Moving Out/On


One day, you will leave.
Abandon.
Vacate.
Evacuate.

You have roots
but you also have wings.
Home is all the different places
your heart occupies.

Bills will pile up,
the cost of leaving.
Goodbyes and home food cravings,
the cost of limitless freedom.

Lines between family and friends blur
as you find yourself
being “invited” to dine with your parents.
But one of the pillows on your friend’s bed
has been designated as yours.

One thought on “Moving Out/On

  1. I can totally totally relate to this post. Having been out on my feet for the past six years, shifting from hostels to apartments to PGs, I know how difficult and painful moving on seems. I have gotten used to it in the long run, it no longer affects me much as it does today. Now, as I return home for a long time, the first time since I first moved out, I feel an awkwardness in returning.
    Beautifully written Janvi, as always.:)

    Liked by 1 person

What are your thoughts?

