Just Yesterday and Today.


I could swear just yesterday I was
Jumping on inflatable bouncy castles
Today I’m jumping on overflowing suitcases
Which refuse to close.

I could swear just yesterday my mom was
Marking my height on her bedroom wall
Today she is marking all the things in my list
I haven’t packed yet.

I could swear just yesterday my father found
His phone exchanged with my toy phone
Today he won’t buy a new one without my advice
And I’m inheriting his old phone.

I could swear just yesterday my brother was
Tickling me while someone took a picture
Today that memory is framed in a photograph
Between my new college clothes.

I could swear just yesterday I had to
Wake up to my mother shaking me
Today my eyes adjust to the morning
With the help of phone alarms.

I could swear just yesterday I dreaded
Teachers who gave too much homework
Today I’m writing greeting cards to them
Saying I’m pursuing a career in their subject.

I could swear just yesterday I couldn’t
Wait to borrow my mother’s make-up
Today I know that there are more important things
Than perfectly applied winged eyeliner.

I could swear just yesterday I was
Learning how to make paper planes
Today I’m a paper plane myself
Flying everywhere but home.

What are your thoughts?

