An Orangutan’s Love.


This poem was written as part of a writing exercise/prompt with the topic, “Odd Love”. Please refer to the picture while reading the poem. Thank you!

This picture was clicked in a zoo in Thailand.
This picture was clicked in a zoo in Thailand.

I try to hold her fingers when she wriggles them away,
I try to touch her arm as people pay,
She yells out in fright when I show my teeth,
A camera flashes as she shudders beneath.

I wonder if I forgot to use my tooth brush today morn,
But I’m too tired to think, I’m lovelorn,
Curious if she is scared of my thinning red hair,
Sweetheart, hair fall is not fatal, it just needs care.

I am but a lover open in the zoo and caged in her dreams,
I am like my trainers’ cap, bursting at the seams,
I am enjoying posing for a photograph with this young lady,
If she would just stop running and hold steady.

2 thoughts on “An Orangutan’s Love.

What are your thoughts?

