The Big Day.


The big day is finally here. It feels quite strange to be saying that I’m sixteen years old, when I’m so accustomed to saying the word “fifteen” instead. It’s a reminder of the elusive passage of time. I feel like an era of my life is over and another one is about to start today. However, I do believe in remembering everything I learn as the years add up. It makes the process of “growing up” (read: aging) mean so much more. It makes me cherish the best 365 days of my life.

So, some things I learnt when I was fifteen are:

1. Growing up isn’t always a process. You just wake up one day, realize it’s your first day of eleventh grade and that you matured a little since last night.

2. You’ll never have as much time, energy or excuses for doing crazy things as than when you’re 15.

3. Food triumphs sleep. Always.

4. Don’t judge a book by it’s cover.. or by it’s movie.

5. Chocoholics in this world, are just increasing by the day.

6. Different brands of pens can make your handwriting look different.

7. It is possible to turn into a nerd if you’re studying what you like.

8. Sometimes friendships fade away. In return, some other friendships grow stronger.

9. There are times when you can actually not hate your hair.

10. Crying + Watching Grey’s Anatomy = Crying worth it.

11. “Ghanta” is a good response to any statement.

12. If I could change my name, it’d be Madame Chocolatica.

13. Mumbai’s public transport isn’t that bad.

14. A new phone can make you look at life differently.

15. Birthday cakes are just a sugar-coated way of saying, “You’re an old woman now!”

16. I am a pro at unintentionally making a fool of myself.

17. The best way to show someone how much you hate them is to unfollow them on Twitter/Instagram the moment their follower count reaches a round number.

18. You can walk straight through hell with a smile.

19. Me, sharing my chocolates is an oxymoron. Kind of.

20. Most of the things in the universe is beyond our comprehension.

4 thoughts on “The Big Day.

What are your thoughts?

