An Unposted Letter.


Dear ex – best friend,

It’s been almost two years. You haven’t tried to talk to me, I didn’t initiate a conversation. I thought I was being strong but was immature enough to not know that friendship isn’t a competition. I thought I’d win and maybe you had the exact same thing in mind. But look what happened. We became known strangers, always ignoring each other and hoping to avoid the awkwardness. In the end, no one won but both of us lost. We lost our friendship.

We used to be so attached. Inseparable. Everyday was spent laughing in school, every night was spent talking on the phone, catching up on whatever little we missed. There was always something to discuss, always another joke we haven’t laughed on and we had all the time in the world to do all of that. That was before we drifted apart. I don’t know whether it was your fault or mine. I don’t know who was right. All I know is the fact that I miss you. I miss those times in class passing secret notes, I miss those chats like the teacher didn’t even exist, I miss getting punished in class and seeing you get intentionally punished just to give me company, I miss being caught staring at you, I miss knowing that you always have my back if anything ever went wrong, I miss getting hyper only to have you calm me down, I miss you doing silly things just to see me smile when I was feeling low.. And I could go on and on. But most of all, I miss the way my face lit up every time I saw you.

I just want to let you know that we can always go back to the way things were earlier. All it’ll take is a smile from you and we’ll be back to being friends. I hope I’m not asking too much from you.

Forever thinking about you (even when you’re not thinking about yourself),
Your ex – best friend and eternal well wisher.
9 thoughts on “An Unposted Letter.

  1. I know how it is to lose a friend, but definitely not the way you have experienced. I hope you’ll get through it, and I hope you’ll have the courage to recreate the lost friendship.

    Like

What are your thoughts?

